Penrith Council candidates announced

What will a new Penrith Council look like after the September elections? Here's a look the possibilities.

The penalty for not voting is $55.

There is no absent voting so you must vote at a polling place or pre-poll issuing votes for your local council and ward.

Not enrolled to vote?

You can enrol to vote and update your details by clicking here.

Here are the candidates who have put themselves in the running for a spot in Penrith Council at the September 8 election.

Nominations for the elections closed at noon on Wednesday, August 8.

A ballot draw to determine the order candidate groups would appear on the ticket was held later that day.

Local councils are expected to assume a caretaker role in the lead up period to an election to ensure that major decisions are not made, which would limit the actions of an incoming council.

The caretaker period for the September elections commence on Friday, August 10.

Penrith Council is divided into three wards and residents need to vote for the candidates campaigning for election in the ward they live in.


Suburbs: ADI site, Agnes Banks, Berkshire Park, Cambridge Gardens, Cambridge Park, Castlereagh, Cranebrook, Emu Heights, Emu Plains (part), Kingswood (part), Kingswood Park, Llandilo, Londonderry, North Cranebrook, North Penrith, Werrington, Werrington County, Werrington Downs.

For a full list of the North Ward candidates click here.


Suburbs: Claremont Meadows, Colyton, Erskine Park, Kemps Creek (part), Kingswood (part), North St Marys, Orchard Hills (part), Oxley Park, St Clair, St Marys.

For a full list of the East Ward candidates click here.


Suburbs: Emu Plains (part), Glenmore Park, Jamisontown, Kemps Creek (part), Kingswood (majority), Leonay, Luddenham, Mulgoa, Orchard Hills (part), Penrith (part), Regentville, South Penrith, Wallacia.

For a full list of the South Ward candidates click here.

For your nearest polling place click here.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide